Scenic Sedbergh Circular
Join us on an 8.3 mile (12.5 km) walk with stunning views, a river-side walk, and fascinating buildings. Interesting buildings include Castlehaw Tower Motte and Bailey and the second oldest Friends Meeting House in England. George Fox visited Brigflatts in 1652 and preached on a nearby fell, a place now called Fox’s Pulpit. The Brigflatts Meeting House was built in 1675, by and for the people who would use it. At the Akay Estate, we find out how a local family dealt with tuberculosis. On our return we will pass a 700-year-old oak in the grounds of Sedbergh School.
Walk starts from Sedbergh Tourist Information Centre, LA10 5AD.
The route includes stiles and is mostly on good footpaths with little ascent or descent. Please wear outdoor clothing suitable for the weather on the day and sturdy footwear with good grips. Please bring a packed lunch.
Sorry, dogs not allowed.
Places limited, booking advisable.
For route information phone Hawes National Park Centre 01969 666210.
What about adding one of these?..